*~*HeRbAlOsItY*~*

Just another WordPress.com site

Calms Forte vs. Melatonin November 3, 2010

Filed under: experiment — keeralynn @ 7:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

My 3.5 year old daughter has a really hard time winding down for bedtime. We’d thought we’d try somethings to see if they helped.

First we tried Hyland’s Calms Forte. The directions say to give the kids 2 tablets every fifteen minutes for up to 8 doses, then every 4 hours. We did that. And then we waited. And waited. And waited. After 4 hours- no effect whatsoever. My daughter LOVES the taste of them, and will ask for them. But it doesn’t make her sleepy.

Then we tried Melatonin. I bought the bottle of 3mg pills. If She’s restless, and really can’t settle down, I give her half a pill (1.5 mg). It takes about an hour to kick in, but it works 95% of the time. Melatonin is safe because it is a chemical naturally produced by our bodies to help regulate our sleep/wake cycle.

*As a note, I’m not advocating buying a certain namebrand. Only sharing my experiences. =)

 

One Response to “Calms Forte vs. Melatonin”

  1. MrsBailes Says:

    Yeah, we have 4 kids all under 6. Definitely disappointed with Calms Forte. What exactly does it calm? I’m sorry, but after putting in a 15 hr day with these kids, Daddy and I need bedtime to go as smoothly as possible. It’s back to melatonin for us. I only tried it b/c the lady at the organic store told me that melatonin is addictive b/c after a while, b/c of supplementing what the body naturally makes, the body stops producing it on its own. Whatever. Let her try bedtime at my house for one night. She’d ditch the scientific babble and go for what works.


Leave a Reply

